Age, Fitness, Health, Lifestyle, Perimenopause, Uncategorized

The big five-O!

cropped-wp_20150309_20_59_07_pro1.jpg

I am 50! That’s fifty! As in half a century! The big five-0!

And I’ve no idea how I got to be middle-aged, it just kinda crept up on me!

I don’t feel it, most of the time, then I wake up with a dodgy shoulder, knee or hip for no apparent reason, plus I knick my hubby’s glasses to read some really teeny tiny writing that I swear I could have read unaided only last week but I’ve been doing it more frequently over the last few months! Getting old sucks, and yes I agree 50 ISN’T OLD, I shout it at the telly every time one of those 50+ life plan adverts comes on, okay if you’re under 30 then you probably think 50 is old, but let me tell you it’s not, only you don’t realise it until you’re here!

So about a year ago, 6 months before I hit the big five-0 and the menopause took over my life I decided that I should change my lifestyle to counteract all the crap that was starting to happen to my body that I seemed to have no control over.  I started going to the gym more and trying different exercise classes like Bodypump and Bodybalance, then I read an article on Sarah Wilson and her ‘I Quit Sugar‘ lifestyle and it really made me think about what I was eating and this year I discovered Hemsley & Hemsley and Deliciously Ella. 

Wow, what a difference it’s made to my life. Now I’m not on a diet, I have a healthy eating lifestyle. Oh hark at me, ha ha! But it’s a big deal for me because I’ve spent the last 20 years going from one diet to another and now while I allow myself to have crap occasionally, it is only occasionally and I just don’t crave crap like I used to! And boy do I feel better for it, I don’t feel 100% yet but I’m so much closer than I thought possible.

I also spent the last 20 years joining the gym only to un-join when I got bored with whatever class that was ‘in fashion’ at the time. I’ve also swum a bit and run a bit, but I generally hated it (I still hate running), got bored and usually gave up before I saw any benefits. I then hated myself, ate a packet of biscuits/crisps/chocolate/ice-cream in fact any old crap I happened to have to hand to make myself feel better, alas the feeling was short lived!

One constant over the past 10 years was Pilates which I did on and off because someone recommended it to me following a severe bout of sciatica but I would sometimes go weeks or even months between going. Then about five years ago I arrived early at the gym to do Pilates and a Zumba class was taking place, it looked like fun. It was very popular, it took me about four weeks to actually get a place but, guess what, I’m still going! It was a miracle, hallelujah, I had found an exercise class that I actually enjoyed, nay loved. It nearly killed me to start with, I’d never sweat so much or looked so red as I did after an hour of Zumba but I picked the routines up quickly and it wasn’t long before I’d made friends and had moved from hiding at the back to the front of the class and at one point I was doing up to three classes a week! Three years ago I bought a bike and signed up to do Nightrider London, a 100k cycle round London at night, to raise money for a friend’s charity PACT which I have just signed up to do again this year. More recently I’ve discovered the joy of yoga which I have dabbled in occasionally over the years but never enjoyed before.

I try to do at least 5 different classes a week which alongside eating healthier means I’m seeing real changes in my body and fitness levels and finally feel like I’m in control.

I will be sharing my journey to a healthier fitter me here but it won’t all be health and fitness and I will be writing about a wide variety of subjects that will hopefully inform and inspire you including some of the things I did during my very eventful 50th year.

Namaste,

Debra

2 thoughts on “The big five-O!”

  1. Hi Marti, sorry it’s taken me so long to reply I’m still trying to get my head round the whole blogging thing! I was 50 in September too and have been lucky to have only had the occasional mild hot flush and even more occasional mild night sweat but they weren’t pleasant despite being mild. I hope yours aren’t too horrific?! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

