Charity, Cycling, Health, Lifestyle, Nightrider, Uncategorized

Today I was supposed to…

…go out on my bike!

I really need to as I am taking part in Nightrider London in June and I haven’t been out on my bike since I completed it last June! I keep meaning to I really do, I’ve even written it in my diary on the days I know I’ll have time to do it and to date I have not been out on my bike on any of these so called scheduled days. That’s 8 times I’ve not been out in the past 6 weeks but so far bad weather (I am most definitely a fairweather cyclist!) and something better (sitting here on my laptop among other things!) has got in the way. I now have less than 4 weeks to get fit enough to cycle 60k (a little under 40 miles), oops.

Am I worried? Not really! Worryingly I think I should be more worried! However I have done the 100k ( a little over 62 miles!) Nightrider course the past 2 years so I figure if I can do that then the 60k should be easy peasy lemon squeezy!!! How can I say this with such quiet confidence? Because last year I went out ‘training’ on my bike the grand total of 3 times and the furthest I did was 27.72k, yes on the night the 100k of Nightrider nearly killed me and if it hadn’t been for my hubby doing it with me I might have given up. Actually, I wouldn’t have given up because I’m a stubborn old cow who doesn’t like to be beaten, but hubby being there definitely helped get me passed the finish line before the deadline. He by the way is one of those annoying people who is sickening fit no matter how little exercise he does!!!

Nightrider 2014

The Pact for Autism team at Nightrider 2014

I’m the one in the middle and my hubby is the one on the far right.

Two years ago when I did Nightrider for the first time I did it on my own but I ‘trained’ 7 times in the 8 weeks leading up to it and managed 60k the week beforehand.  On the night I’m not saying it was easy, I had done no hill training and London is anything but flat especially in the northern and southern suburbs where a lot of Nightrider takes place, but I managed it reasonably well allbeit walking up many of the hills! Plus I felt sick after the first 20k (that’s when I realised that the Lucozade Sport I was drinking was a bad idea!), was freezing in the early hours of the morning after the second 20k and then my arse was beyond uncomfortable for the last 20k.

Nightrider 2013

Me after Nightrider 2013 with my medal and bacon roll!

But it was the best feeling in the world, I don’t consider myself to be ‘sporty’, yes I go to the gym a few times a week because I have to in order to not look like a Teletubby! But, as you’ve probably gathered by now, most of the time I’ll use any old excuse to get out of doing anything above and beyond that. I love the idea of doing stuff…I love the idea of running the London Marathon and every year watching it inspires me but in reality I hate running and the most I can manage is a pathetic 5k. Last year I ran the City of London Mile and I joke that it was harder than Nightrider (but I’m not really joking, I’d rather cycle 100k than run a mile plus I would look and feel better at the end of it too!)

So this year they’ve introduced the shorter 60k route and my friend Sarah said she’d do it with me if we did the 60k and not the 100k, as if I was going to say no to that! My eldest daughter has also just registered and we three are doing it to raise money for my friend’s charity Pact for Autism. Now the thing I am worried about is that my daughter is an athlete and the sports co-ordinater at a girls school who runs for the fun of it every day on top of everything else she does with the girls and Sarah (a teacher in her 50’s) runs 10k’s and despite hardly ever cycling (other than a spin class every week) has already done 60k in training! So I really do need to get on my bike asap so that I’m not holding them back!!! I’ll let you know how the training goes once I get started and of course how the Nightrider night goes.

I hate asking people for sponsorship but this charity is dear to my heart so if anyone would like to sponsor me, no matter how small the amount I would be truly grateful, you can do so here and many many thanks to anyone who does.

1 thought on “Today I was supposed to…”

Leave a Reply

