Health, Lifestyle, Uncategorized

Nightrider training

So yes, Hallalujah, I have actually been out on my bike 3 times in 11 days and there are 9 days until Nightrider and I am now even less worried than I was in my previous post when I had yet to hit the saddle! I started of gently just to test the water with a 10.56km in 35 minutes in the morning Sunday before last before I went to my Bodybalance class, which I did again last Sunday but cycling 14.78km in 53 minutes and today I did 23.73km in 1 hour 27 minutes. I’m pretty chuffed with that considering the last time I went out on it was July last year! I felt good today and could have gone on much longer but I was starving so I didn’t 🙂 I have the opportunity to go out a few more times over the next week and I will definitely go twice if not 3 times when I’ll try to do at least 40 km in 2 and a half hours which should see me ok to do the 60km at Nightrider on the 6th of June. I am definitely fitter this year and my breathing is much easier, I normally puff and wheeze like someone who has been smoking 40-a-day all their life, even the first 20 minutes out which I usually find is the hardest bit is ok, so I think all my gym visits are paying off, yay!!!

Today I cycled through the lovely Lee Valley Country Park, which is just a 10 minute cycle from my house, for the first time since last summer and came across these fabulous wood carvings…

WP_20150528_13_38_21_ProWP_20150528_13_38_45_Pro

Aren’t they great? 🙂

It’s half term here and I saw a few families out walking or cycling but it was much quieter than it is at the weekend when, if you go lunch time or later it’s very busy and not good for cycling which is why I go early on a Sunday morning before everyone except the occasional dog-walker comes out! I cycled home along the canal to Enfield Island and through Gunpowder Park which is literally 2 minutes from my house and where I do most of my cycling.

I’m so lucky to have such lovely countryside, parks and waterways so near to me, next time I will try to take some more photo’s, I just hope I can capture the beauty of the place on my Nokia Lumia phone.

Leave a Reply

